Sydney Leroux named to NWSL Best XI

Sanderson earns second team honors

 The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) announced Wednesday the Best XI selections for the 2013 NWSL season.

Western New York Flash forward Abby Wambach and defender Brittany Taylor were among the 11 players selected ahead of the 2013 NWSL Championship game on Saturday, Aug. 31 at Sahlen’s Stadium in Rochester, N.Y. between the Flash and Portland Thorns FC. The game kicks off at 8 p.m. ET and will be broadcast nationally live on FOX Sports 2.

At 23, Boston Breakers forward Sydney Leroux is the youngest member of the squad, which is comprised of seven allocated players from the United States and Canada women’s national teams and four non-allocated players. FC Kansas City had the most selections of any team with four.

Sydney Leroux was named to the NWSL Best XI

The NWSL Best XI team (listed at position, alphabetically by last name):


                Position                 Player                                     Club                                           Country                 Note                 .

Goalkeeper          Nicole Barnhart                 FC Kansas City                           USA                         10 shutouts


Defender              Christie Rampone            Sky Blue FC                                 USA                         1.20 GAA

Defender              Leigh Ann Robinson        FC Kansas City                           USA                         5 assists

Defender              Becky Sauerbrunn            FC Kansas City                           USA                         1.0 GAA

Defender              Brittany Taylor                    Western New York Flash          USA                 3 goals, 4 assists


Midfielder            Lori Chalupny                     Chicago Red Stars                     USA                       5 goals, 4 assists

Midfielder            Jess Fishlock                     Seattle Reign FC                         Wales                   4 goals

Midfielder            Lauren Holiday                   FC Kansas City                           USA                       12 goals, 9 assists

Midfielder            Diana Matheson                 Washington Spirit                      Canada                  8 goals, 3 assists


Forward                 Sydney Leroux                Boston Breakers                       USA                         11 goals, 2 assists

Forward                 Abby Wambach                Western New York Flash          USA                          11 goals, 8 assists


NWSL Second XIGoalkeeper: Adrianna Franch, Western New York Flash – Defenders: Rachel Buehler, Portland Thorns FC; Caitlin Foord, Sky Blue FC; Ali Krieger, Washington Spirit; Lauren Sesselmann, FC Kansas City – Midfielders: Megan Rapinoe, Seattle Reign FC; Desiree Scott, FC Kansas City; Erika Tymrak, FC Kansas City – Forwards: Alex Morgan, Portland Thorns FC; Lianne Sanderson, Boston Breakers; Christine Sinclair, Portland Thorns FC

Lianne Sanderson earned second team honors (Photo by Mike Gridley)

The NWSL awards are voted on by a selection of journalists that cover the league on a consistent basis, club officials and NWSL players.

 Voters for the Best XI provided selections for four (4) defenders and a combination of six (6) midfielders or forwards; with the ability to select a minimum of one (1) and a maximum of three (3) forwards. The Goalkeeper of the Year was automatically named to the Best XI.

 The Second XI is comprised of the next leading vote getters at each position that did not make the Best XI.


Official Partners













Dev Academy