Breakers unveil 2013 schedule

Open season April 14 at home vs. Washington Spirit

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) announced Tuesday the 2013 NWSL regular season schedule. The Breakers open the season on Sunday, April 14, 2013, at 6:30 p.m. ET at home against the Washington Spirit.

The Breakers will play their home games at Dilboy Stadium in Somerville, Mass., which will add an additional 1,000 seats, bringing capacity to approximately 3,500.

The Breakers schedule consists of 22 games (11 at home, 11 on the road). Following the season opener against the Spirit, the Breakers hit the road to take on FC Kansas City on April 20. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:35 p.m. at Shawnee Mission North High School in Overland Park, Kansas.

The 2013 schedule features several marquee matchups for the Breakers, including four games against rivals Western New York Flash (Saturday, April 27, at 7:35 p.m., and Saturday, Aug. 17, at 7:35 p.m., both on the road at Sahlen’s Stadium; and at home on both Wednesday, June 5, at 7 p.m., and Saturday, Aug. 3, at 6 p.m.). The Flash features 2012 FIFA Women’s Player of the Year Abby Wambach. The Breakers get a shot at redemption on Saturday, May 4, as they take on the Chicago Red Stars, the team that knocked Boston out of the WPSL Elite playoffs last season.

U.S. Women’s National Team star Alex Morgan, Canada’s top player and captain Christine Sinclair, Canadian keeper and former Breakers goalie from the WUSA, Karina LeBlanc, and the Portland Thorns play in Boston on Saturday, July 21. Former Breakers Lauren Cheney and Melissa Henderson, along with former Boston College star and Hanson, Mass. native Kristie Mewis come to town with FC Kansas City on Saturday, Aug. 10.

"We are very excited to get the season underway. We obviously have a lot of talent in our Boston Breakers squad but opposing teams will also be brining their own talented players to Dilboy this season," Boston Breakers General Manager Lee Billiard said. "Players like Alex Morgan, Shannon Boxx, Abby Wambach, Ali Krieger, Christine Sinclair, Hope Solo and many, many others will be on display in Somerville. The season schedule is set up nicely - a lot of weekend games with evening kickoffs and a few midweek games against strong opposition during the summer months. It should be a fantastic season. I am sure games will sell out in a short time, so my recommendation to Breakers fans is to purchase your tickets quickly.”

 
Boston Breakers 2013 Schedule (home games in bold, all home games at Dilboy Stadium in Somerville, Mass.)

Sunday, April 14 (6:30 pm) Washington Spirit

Saturday, April 20 (7:35 pm) FC Kansas City (Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, Kan.)

Saturday, April 27 (7:35 pm) Western NY Flash (Sahlen’s Stadium, Rochester, N.Y.)

Saturday, May 4 (6 pm) Chicago Red Stars

Saturday, May 11 (7 pm) Washington Spirit (Maryland SoccerPlex, Boyds, Md.)

Saturday, May 18 (7:35 pm) FC Kansas City (Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, Kan.)

Saturday, May 25 (7 pm) Washington Spirit

Saturday, June 1 (7 pm) Sky Blue FC (Yurcak Field, Piscataway, NJ)

Wednesday, June 5 (7 pm) Western NY Flash

Sunday, June 9 (3 pm) Chicago Red Stars (Benedictine University Sports Complex, Lisle, Ill.)

Sunday, June 16 (6:30 pm) Sky Blue FC

Wednesday, June 26 (7 pm) Seattle Reign FC

Sunday, June 30 (6:30 pm) Sky Blue FC

Wednesday, July 3 (7 pm) Seattle Reign (Starfire Sports Complex, Tukwila, Wash.)

Saturday, July 6 (7:30 pm) Portland Thorns FC (JELD-WEN Field, Portland, Ore.)

Saturday, July 13 (7 pm) Sky Blue FC (Yurcak Field, Piscataway, NJ)

Sunday, July 21 (4 pm) Portland Thorns FC

Saturday, July 27 (7 pm) Washington Spirit (Maryland SoccerPlex, Boyds, Md.)

Saturday, August 3 (6 pm) Western NY Flash

Wednesday, August 7 (7 pm) Portland Thorns FC

Saturday, August 10 (6 pm) FC Kansas City

Saturday, August 17 (7:35 pm) Western NY Flash (Sahlen’s Stadium, Rochester, N.Y.)

 

 

Official Partners

Steward

Lifetime

Nike

Cutter

JetBlue

MPT

Dunkin

Go90

SouthernNH

Thorne

TCG

Sweat

Dev Academy