Breakers announce 25-player preseason roster

(March 18, 2014) - The Boston Breakers announced today their 25-player preseason roster.

(March 19, 2014) - The Boston Breakers announced today their 25-player preseason roster. Among the 25 players, nine featured for last year's team. The final 18-20-player roster will be announced April 7.

The nine returnees include 2013 Team MVP Lianne Sanderson, who recently returned from the Cyprus Cup, having scored two goals for England in a 2-0 win over Canada that sent England to the finals, U.S. Women's National Team duo Heather O'Reilly (MF) and Alyssa Naeher (GK), forward Katie Schoepfer, midfielders Joanna Lohman and Maddy Evans, and defenders Cat WhitehillJazmyne Avant, Julie King, and Bianca D'Agostino.

Maddy Evans, left, and Chelsea Stewart battle for possession during a recent intersquad scrimmage (Photo By Mike Gridley)

The roster also includes U.S. Women's National Team midfielder and Hanson, Mass. native Kristie Mewis, Canadians Kaylyn Kyle (MF) and Chelsea Stewart (D), Australia Women's National Team forward Lisa De Vanna (who is expected to arrive Thursday night), Colombia Women's National Team forward Melissa Ortiz, former FC Kansas City defender Courtney Jones, 2014 NWSL College Draft picks Nkem Ezurike (F), Jazmine Reeves (F), Jami Kranich (GK), Mollie Pathman (MF), and Kim DeCesare (MF), and preseason invitees Rachel Wood (D), Ashley Grove (D), Katie Oakes (D), and Hanna Gilmore (MF).

The Breakers will play three preseason matches, beginning Monday, March 24, at Northeastern University, followed by games against Boston College (March 29) and the University of Connecticut (April 5).

The 2014 National Women's Soccer League season opens on April 13 for the Breakers, a game on the road against Seattle Reign FC. The Breakers' home opener is scheduled for Sunday, April 20 (6:30 p.m.), against the Houston Dash. Tickets for all home games can be purchased at or by calling 617-945-1704.

25-player roster:

Jazmyne Avant (D)

Bianca D'Agostino (D)

Kim DeCesare (MF)

Lisa De Vanna (F)

Maddy Evans (MF)

Nkem Ezurike (F)

Hanna Gilmore (MF)

Ashley Grove (D)

Courtney Jones (D)

Julie King (D)

Kaylyn Kyle (MF)

Jami Kranich (GK)

Joanna Lohman (MF)

Kristie Mewis (MF)

Alyssa Naeher (GK)

Katie Oakes (D)

Heather O'Reilly (MF)

Melissa Ortiz (F)

Mollie Pathman (MF)

Jazmine Reeves (F)

Lianne Sanderson (MF)

Katie Schoepfer (F)

Chelsea Stewart (D)

Cat Whitehill (D)

Rachel Wood (D)

Official Partners













Dev Academy